i really enjoyed my time pedicabbing in washington dc! it was a fun job.

i am sarah! i am a 28-year-old michigan native. i spent a couple extra years in university since i changed my major many times (english, linguistics, anthropology, spanish... i finally settled on russian and philosophy). after graduating, i spent a little over a year in washington dc where i managed to be gainfully employed for riding bicycles. i rode a pedicab in the summer and was a bike messenger in the winter (there aren't as many tourists to pedal around when it gets cold).

in the fall of 2010 i started a phd program at the university of chicago in russian literature. i realized very quickly that academia was not for me and was pretty depressed the whole three years i spent in grad school. the parts of it i liked were 1) when i got funding to go to russia and was able to tack a month of backpacking europe on to the end of it, and 2) teaching! i taught first year russian my third year in the program, which was really the only reason i stayed that long. teaching was often the highlight of my week. i pretty much hated everything else that i had to do in grad school.

 the problem was that i didn't know what else i could do with my life. i have massive student loan debts from undergrad (thankfully my grad program funded me), so i needed a job where i could make enough to pay my loans, but i have never wanted a "real job." 

not wanting to waste any more of my life doing something i didn't love, i spent a lot of time thinking about what i wanted to do and what i could do. the number one thing i've wanted to do throughout my life is to travel. turns out that by teaching english in asia, you can make enough to pay loans and just by doing it, you inherently ARE TRAVELLING. plus, duh! teaching! it's the perfect solution!

so now i am teaching english in a private english school in donghae, south korea. from 10-2 o'clock it's a "kindergarten" which means three to seven-year-olds. from 2-6, i teach eight to thirteen-year-olds. for the most part, i am really enjoying it, although of course sometimes i have bad days.

this is me at a noraebang (korean kaoroke room) in my city celebrating a friend's birthday. this noraebang has costumes that you can borrow.

i really love the day to day of living in korea. the food is amazing and i've made some good friends in my city. and i'm finding that i'm able to save even more money than i hoped i would.

i plan to spend the next few years teaching in different countries until i can pay off my loans and save a bit. then i will begin a multiyear, worldwide backpacking trip. 

contact me:

sarah.holzhausen@gmail.com

facebook

instagram